Board of Officers

2017 – 2018 Board of Officers

The Georgia Chapter of APCO elects a Board of Officers to serve as its leadership. The current Board of Officers is spotlighted below. Please e-mail any of the officers with questions, concerns, or suggestions. You may also e-mail all board members by sending your message to The officers like to hear from the members!

Lynn Smith – President
Lynn became a APCO member in November of 2000. She is employed as the 911 / EMA Director with Habersham County. Lynn Served as a Board Officer and Treasurer prior to being elected Vice President.
Phone: (706) 778-3911
Fax: (706) 776-1066



Jonathan Jones – Vice President
Jonathan is currently employed as a Communications Supervisor with the Athens-Clarke County Police Department in Athens, Georgia. Jonathan served as the Northeast Regional Ambassador prior to becoming a board member in 2013. Jonathan also manages the chapter website and social media. Jonathan currently serves as Chair of the APCO International Member Chapter Services Committee.
Phone: (706) 613-3888 ext. 565
Fax: (706) 613-3350

Steve Usher – Secretary / Treasurer
Steve retired from the Air Force in 2004 (20 years). He started with Berrien County 911 in Nashville, Georgia in 2006 and became the Assistant Director in 2010. Steve then joined Glynn-Brunswick E911 in 2011 as a Communications Officer and was hired as the Operations Coordinator in 2012. In January 2014, he was hired as the Director of Glynn-Brunswick E911. Steve has been an APCO member since 2012.
Phone: (912) 554-7863
Fax: (912) 554-7878

Brian Burgamy – Executive Council Representative
Brian became an APCO member in 1996. He is employed with the Eatonton Police Department.

John Blalock – Board Officer
John was an 18-year veteran of the Floyd County Police Dept and retired at the rank of Captain to become the Director of Floyd County 911. He has been an APCO member since 2014. He served as Regional Ambassador for the Northwest region before becoming a board member in 2016.
Phone: (706) 236-4543
Fax: (706) 236-4517

Sonya Jackson – Board Officer
Sonya Jackson is employed by the GPSTC as the Basic Communications Coordinator since 2015. She began her career as a communications officer in 1996 at a metro area agency working her way from a front line communications officer, CTO, Sr. Dispatcher, and Shift Supervisor serving the agency for 18 years. She has been an APCO member since 2006 and has served on the APCO training committee since 2015.
Phone: (478) 993-4624



Trudy McDevitt – Board Officer
Retired Spalding County E-911 Director after 20+ years, prior as a dispatcher to Supervisor/Trainer at a Metro E-911 Center for 10 years. Trudy Has been an APCO member since 2008.
Phone:(678) 588-4547


Danny Murray – Board Officer
Forsyth County 911 Training Coordinator since 2013, Communications Officer since 2009. APCO member since 2013. Member of the APCO International Professional Development Events Committee. Bio coming soon
Phone: (678) 455-8061

Debbie Vance – Past President
Debbie has been a member of APCO since 2002. She is currently employed as the Director with Gordon County 9-1-1. Debbie served as the Northwest Regional Ambassador prior to becoming a board member.
Phone:(706) 602-8325
Fax: (706) 602-2822

Drew Allvine – CCAM
Drew has been a commercial member of APCO since 2012 and prior to that he was part of his company’s group membership. He is employed by West Safety Services and serves as Sr. Account Executive, Sales – GA, MS, KY, AL.
Phone: (404) 441-1358


Ralph Bevan – Frequency Coordinator
Ralph has worked for the State of Georgia since 1990 starting with Department of Administrative services(DOAS) as a communication technician III taking on the role of lead tech for the Atlanta area(APCO member from 1990-1998). In 1998 DOAS closed the state radio shop and he took over running the State of Georgia statewide paging system until taking over as the State Frequency Coordinator for Georgia and as the APCO local advisor in 2007 until present and rejoining APCO at that time.
Phone: (404) 656-2042 or (404) 707-7223
Fax: (404)657-0320